Muse & Meander

Shaping a Genesis week from the chaos of my life

To Write Love on Her Arms

I had never heard of the organization To Write Love on Her Arms. I learned of it through a blog called “Words of a Stubborn Girl“.  DSCN6862

Stubborn Girl.  Ah, I love that. I’ve been called that myself (though my Gram always suggested that tenacious was a much nicer word) and so I know I already like her. More importantly though, she writes about important topics that are relevant to new women today. She says it with passion, and she says it well. Here’s a taste…

People are afraid to say that they are not okay, because as a culture, we have placed perfection on a pedestal and everything else below it. For us to say that we are not okay shatters the façade that we have built up and call our “lives.” But what we show people isn’t who we truly are—it’s the cookie cutter version that looks good on paper. We hide our dark sides and pretend that nothing is wrong. But imperfections are what make people beautiful, because imperfections are what make people real. TWLOHA stands by the phrase “It’s okay not to be okay,” and so do I.

Read more

She’s a poet, a photographer, and she’s stubborn. That’s why I’m sure she’ll also be a world-changer in the best of ways.


 

To Write Love on Her Arms is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and invest directly into treatment and recovery.

 

2 comments on “To Write Love on Her Arms

  1. Paige
    August 21, 2014

    TWLOHA is an amazing organization, but sadly few people are aware of it. Surprisingly, I’ve found that more non-Christians are familiar with the slogan and the meaning behind it.

    • Crystal Thieringer
      August 21, 2014

      I hadn’t heard of it either, Paige…but now that I do, I’m happy to spread the word. It seems that the do important work. I am going to be looking into it further. Thanks for stopping by.

Let's talk. What can you add to this discussion?

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2014 by in Overcoming Depression, self injury, Suicide Prevention and tagged , , .

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

No Instagram images were found.