Muse & Meander

Shaping a Genesis week from the chaos of my life

Please check blindspot

I did it again.

I’m a quick thinker, and as a result when I’m talking to people, I reply quickly. Sometimes that means I interrupt them–a habit I’ve been trying to break for years. Sometimes, I respond to a comment in an online chat that, having lost the visual cues of facial expression and vocal nuance, comes across much harsher than I intended.

I happen to think I was still right about what I said, but completely wrong in how I said it. Does that ever happen to you? I ask God again and again to help me be kind, help me be gentle.IMG_0524

Sigh.  Good thing He’s patient.

Most times, the problem is simply that I’m focused on my big picture, when I should be focused on the other guy’s. I’m too intent on the all-about-me instead of the all-about them. I used to be a sports car, going from zero to sixty in seconds without really caring what was in front of me. These days, I like to think I’m a bit more of a vintage roadster. It takes a lot more to get me riled. Still, there are those days when the right buttons get pushed …

I’ve been the passenger in four car accidents. That’s right, four, and I don’t even have a license. If you cringed when you read that, just think of how my neck feels.

That’s what happens when we don’t pay attention to our blind spots. People get hurt.

 

2 comments on “Please check blindspot

  1. Marsha Ingrao
    June 9, 2014

    I can’t seem to break the habit of interrupting either, even when I can’t get my words out fast enough. I struggle with this.

    • Crystal Thieringer
      June 9, 2014

      Marsha, I know, right? Then I see it in someone’s eyes–and I mentally kick myself and try to pay more attention. Honestly, I think I’m better than I used to be, but there are still days…

      Thanks for dropping by!

Let's talk. What can you add to this discussion?

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2014 by in What I'm thinking today and tagged , .

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

