Muse & Meander

Shaping a Genesis week from the chaos of my life

Are you hiding out?

A friend of mine has had a really horrible year. Michele Cushatt is a wife and a mom to six kids. She is an in-demand speaker and an author. And she’s been fighting a serious illness. Then her dad got sick too, and she needed surgery, and now she is faced with having to say goodbye. There’s deadlines and the end-of-the-school-year, and keeping up with her work and flying back and forth to be with her parents as often as she can.

In short, she’s pretty much hit maximum stress levels in every area of her life.

You’d think she’d give in. Give up. I would. Maybe I have.

But she doesn’t. She is living the life she’s been given, and she’s doing it with courage and grace.

Recently she posted these words:

DSCN7184When you and I endure a trauma—a struggling child, a failed assignment, a lost dream, a broken relationship—our first impulse is to withdraw. Like a rabbit threatened by a wolf, we retreat to a haven until the danger passes. We circle up the family, cancel appointments, cut back responsibilities, and tend to the wound. It’s both wise and necessary.

For a time.

But the problem with a haven is how easily it becomes a hideout.

Ahh.  I’ve been guilty of that. I’m wondering if I’m guilty of it today.

Read more at Michele’s blog.  It’s right over here.

4 comments on “Are you hiding out?

  1. Michele Cushatt
    May 24, 2014

    Thank you for your kind words, Crystal. And for your courage to LIVE! I admire you.

    • Crystal Thieringer
      May 24, 2014

      Thanks for stopping by Michele. You inspire a great many people–and I’m on that list!

  2. Bobbi-Lee
    May 25, 2014

    Ahhhhh those words…. You always find words to write or forward to others that sink in sooooo much. Thank you. I love you

    • Crystal Thieringer
      May 25, 2014

      I love you too, Bobbi-Lee. I’m glad you appreciated this–Michele is awesome!

Let's talk. What can you add to this discussion?

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2014 by in Who we are and tagged , , , .

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

