Muse & Meander

Shaping a Genesis week from the chaos of my life

Reality check

Shopping List
(Lesa Bryant, Larry Bryant)

Lord, I need to talk to you.  There’s so much on my heart.
So many burdens makes it hard to know just where to start. I thank you for your family, your mercy and your love. Now on to more important things.  I’ll give my magic lamp a rub.

Give me this, I want that. Bless me Lord I pray. Grant me what I think I need to make it through the day. Make me wealthy, keep me healthy. Fill in what I missed on my never-ending shopping list.

Lord, you’ve been so good to me, how could I ask for more?
But since you said to ask, I will–’cause what else is prayer for?
The cattle on a thousand hills, they all belong to you.
I don’t need any cows right now but something else might do.

Give me this, I want that. Bless me Lord I pray Grant me what I think I need to make it through the day. Make me wealthy, keep me healthy. Fill in what I missed on my never-ending shopping list.

I want a nice white smile on a perfect face and perfect hair that will stay in place. I want a smaller nose and a single chin and a figure like a perfect ten.

And a mom that never yells or screams and hips that fit in designer jeans.
And a tennis court and a heated pool–I could use them, Lord as a witnessing tool. And a colour tv and a VCR and Jesus plates on a brand new car. 


This is an old song (clearly, since Bluray replaced DVD after it replaced the VCR…).  I enjoy it on the album Comfort and Joy by Babbie Mason.  It’s part of our Christmas tradition and a good reminder as the malls are crazy-busy right now.

I couldn’t find a YouTube video of her singing it though.  This rendition is by the songwriter, Larry Bryant.

Let's talk. What can you add to this discussion?

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2013 by in What I'm thinking today.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

