Muse & Meander

Shaping a Genesis week from the chaos of my life

The bravest thing

I’m having a day where it’s difficult to get out of bed. Oh physically I’m well enough, in fact, I’m as healthy as I’ve ever been. It’s just that there are times when the weight of problems or things-to-think-about feels too much.

I’m not a poet. I started reading poems because I had a friend who was able to wrestle words into the most stunning phrases, but I didn’t always understand them. And to be truthful, there are many poems I’ll never ‘get’.  Every so often, I come across a poem–often through my poetic acquaintances–that I can completely relate to.

Today is the kind of day where those two things intersect–a day when I am struggling, and a day where a poet has put that struggle into words.

maybe the bravest thing
is opening your eyes in the
morning and placing your
two feet on the cold floor and
rising up against the gravity
of the night.
 
continue reading

I’m thankful both for the poet, John D. Blase, and the woman who directed me there.  I hope you’ll visit his site and read it too.

The bravest thing

8 comments on “The bravest thing

  1. Nancy Rue
    November 20, 2013

    You are brave every day, my friend.

  2. Melody
    November 20, 2013

    I’m having the same kind of day right now…

  3. thebeautifuldue
    November 20, 2013

    Thanks again, Crystal.

    • Crystal Thieringer
      November 20, 2013

      oh friend…the thanks belongs to you. I appreciate you letting me share.

  4. Joelle
    November 21, 2013

    I hope you feel braver today. I will echo Nancy’s perspective that you are brave every day – you may not perceive it, but you are!

    • Crystal Thieringer
      November 21, 2013

      I’m sure that any bravery I may have is because of friends like the two of you.

  5. Pingback: Reflect, don’t drag | Muse & Meander

Let's talk. What can you add to this discussion?

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2013 by in What I'm thinking today and tagged , , , .

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

