Muse & Meander

Shaping a Genesis week from the chaos of my life

We collect friends like stamps

We’re collecting friends like stamps . . . and converting the deep meaning and intimacy of friendship with exchanging  photos and chat conversations.  By doing so . . . we claim to have many friends, while actually being lonely.

Shimi Cohen

I’ve had a few discussions with my closest friends regarding how social media is very anti-social.  The irony of raising it here is not lost on me, I assure you.

I’ve realized that while many people show an on-line status, for example, it doesn’t necessarily mean they are available to me.  This has been a challenging lesson for me.  I was one of the people who was connected and yet most definitely lonely.  My loneliness was perhaps amplified in that I was sometimes a shut-in for weeks at a time and depended on social media for my companionship. People were always afraid to call me, they said, because they didn’t want to wake me up. So I chose to only be “available” when I truly was.  I wasn’t the popular girl at the online party. Frankly, that wasn’t so different from my in-person life sometimes.

Does that sound like I’m feeling sorry for myself? Okay, sometimes. But mostly, I’ve accepted an opportunity to reclaim the original meaning of friend. It’s not a numbers game. It’s about mutual affection, caring and support.  The reason I raise this though, is because of Shimi Cohen’s next thought.

More and more people define themselves as lonely . . . thus, loneliness has become the most common ailment in the modern world.

Loneliness promotes depression. Depression and other mental health problems are significant and for many people can lead to self-injury or death.  In my case, it fostered a victim mentality in me and when I couldn’t get others to see where I was coming from, I realized I needed to make a change in my expectations of other people.  So I declared a social media moratorium for several weeks–and a permanent moratorium on certain platforms.

I want more in my life. Friendship–solid, joy-filled, blessed friendship–takes time. It requires effort but I believe it will be worth it.  Sure, I have people who can see my pictures and my stories and what things I like or don’t.  As a not-yet-published author, I know I have to learn to be okay with that.  But that, is mostly a numbers game.

It’s not friendship.  I choose quality over quantity.  Do you?

8 comments on “We collect friends like stamps

  1. Nancy Rue
    October 21, 2013

    I absolutely do. As a person who has never gotten into the online community thing except for my blogs, I’ve had to learn how important a Facebook post is to some people and, more than that, responding to their comments. Still, when it comes to relationships, i want hugs and Skype sessions and lattes shared across a table and laughter on the phone and long newsy emails or short answers to, “Please pray for me today, my friend.” Whether we “friend” people on Facebook or promise face-to-face, we just can’t get sloppy with relationships.

    • Crystal Thieringer
      October 21, 2013

      As you’re pointing out, social media–soul media as you call it–has a place. It’s provided a way for you to have that community, and me too. I don’t have issues with that. I love how you’ve worded it–we just can’t get sloppy with relationships. Thanks for getting it!

  2. Donna Noakes
    October 21, 2013

    As always Crystal, I like the way you thoughtfully reflect and communicate that personal reflection. Nicely stated.

  3. Melody
    October 21, 2013

    *Sigh* I’m getting the feeling God wants me to take a break from facebook. This is the fourth time in two days that I’ve read/heard something about fasting or taking a break from social media. Did you and Mrs. Rue plan this? 🙂

    • Crystal Thieringer
      October 21, 2013

      OH Melody, no we didn’t talk about this at all. In fact, I drafted this a couple of weeks ago!

  4. Pingback: Reflect, don’t drag | Muse & Meander

  5. Pingback: I thought we’d be friends forever… | Muse & Meander

Let's talk. What can you add to this discussion?

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

